The Shadow Revolution by Clay & Susan Griffith- Review

Cover- Shadow Revolution

They are the realm’s last, best defense against supernatural evil. But they’re going to need a lot more silver.

As fog descends, obscuring the gas lamps of Victorian London, werewolves prowl the shadows of back alleys. But they have infiltrated the inner circles of upper-crust society as well. Only a handful of specially gifted practitioners are equipped to battle the beasts. Among them are the roguish Simon Archer, who conceals his powers as a spell-casting scribe behind the smooth veneer of a dashing playboy; his layabout mentor, Nick Barker, who prefers a good pub to thrilling heroics; and the self-possessed alchemist Kate Anstruther, who is equally at home in a ballroom as she is on a battlefield.

After a lycanthrope targets Kate’s vulnerable younger sister, the three join forces with fierce Scottish monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane—but quickly discover they’re dealing with a threat far greater than anything they ever imagined.


The Shadow Revolution, book one of the Crown & Key series, is the first book I’ve received from NetGalley for review. The setting of the story is Victorian-era London with lots of steampunk and paranormal stuff thrown in. I found the character to be both interesting and likable, especially Simon Archer and Kate Anstruther. Kate is a woman after my own heart- she has an alchemy lab in her library and she isn’t afraid to stand down a werewolf. Simon is a mysterious gent with a torso covered in arcane script and a reputation as a bit of a rogue. I think these two would make a really fantastic couple and I’m hoping that they’ll pair up in one of the sequels.
At the beginning of the story I noticed that the sentences seemed choppy and didn’t flow very well, but I am pleased to note that as the story progressed the sentence flow became more fluid. The copy I received from NetGalley & Del Rey was unrevised, so perhaps this was corrected in the final draft. The action was paced well throughout and there weren’t any scenes that stood out as unnecessary or out of place. Additionally, the action sequences were well-written and I could easily visualize what was happening.
Overall, I was pretty pleased with this book and I am looking for to reading the second book in the Crown & Key series, which I believe is already available. Simon and Kate have an interesting connection in their past that I am excited to unravel later in the series. I do hope we get a look at Nick’s escapades in book #2 since he has split from the group to pursue his own goals. I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars and I would recommend this to fans of Urban or Victorian fantasy novels.

Leave a Reply

