Top 5 Grimdark Series

Cover- Promise of Blood

The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

The Broken Empire Trilogy by Mark Lawrence

The Powder Mage Trilogy by Brian McClellan

Raven’s Shadow Trilogy by Anthony Ryan

The Chronicles of the Black Company by Glen Cook

For those of you unaware, Grimdark refers to a sub-genre of speculative fiction that is particularly realistic or that contains an anti-hero. I find that military fantasy books often end up in this sub-genre, and these novels hold a special place in my heart. Each of the links above will take you to the Goodreads page for the first novel in each series. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s