Top 5 Least Favorite Required Readings

Everyone has those books that they were required to read in high school or college that they just hated. Here is a list of my least favorite required readings, which is by no means comprehensive.


Animal Farm by George Orwell

A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton


These are considered classics, but they did nothing for me except lessen my opinion of classic works. That is not to say that I do not enjoy classics- I love Edgar Allen Poe, and Lord of the Flies was like the original Hunger Games to me.

What “required readings” made it on your bookish black list?


5 thoughts on “Top 5 Least Favorite Required Readings

  1. I’m curious what you disliked about “Animal Farm.” That book made my short list of assigned books/classics that I actually liked. Also, did you have to read Joyce’s “Ulysses”? I suspect people that read it either love or hate it, and it easily top my “kill it with fire” list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

