The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson – Review

Cover- The Alloy of Law

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Synopsis:

Centuries after the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is on the verge of modernity – railroads, electric street lights, and skyscrapers. Waxillium Ladrian can Push on metals with his Allomancy and use Feruchemy to become lighter or heavier at will. After 20 years in the dusty Roughs, in the city of Elendel, the new head of a noble house may need to keep his guns.


The Alloy of Law will be the first book I’ve re-read and done a review of on my blog. It’s been probably a year and a half or so since I read it the first time and I honestly didn’t remember a whole lot about it. I knew I liked it quite a lot and it was sort of Western-ish, but I could only vaguely recall plot details and such. I decided to do a reread because I’ll be getting Shadows of Self later this month and, you know, BIRTHDAY BOOKS!!! Anyway, I needed a refresher as I’m sure many other Mistborn fans did since The Alloy of Law was originally released in 2011, and four years is a long time between books.

I am pleased to announce that I enjoyed the book just as much the second time around as I did on the first read. Brandon Sanderson is a fantabulous writer and I have enjoyed all of his books that I’ve read. You read that correctly. EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. I think that’s a huge deal because many authors have one really popular series, but their other works are not nearly as awesome. Sanderson is like a well of never ending creativity and he writes SO fast! He’s released two books this year as well as a novella or two AND the third era #2 Mistborn novel will release in January or February of 2016.

Anyhow, about the actual novel. The Alloy of Law is set 300 years after the events of the first Mistborn trilogy and society is moving on at quite a rapid pace. The protagonist from the first novel have basically ascended and become deities (cool). Unfortunately, Allomancy and Feruchemy are becoming much rarer and no one has all of the powers (not cool). I love that the story has moved so far on the timeline, rather than being a decade later, its centuries. This gives a great deal of room for believable change in the society as a whole. This novel gives me a late 1800’s feel, with new industrial innovations, brand new electricity, and exciting banditry and Wild West justice.

Waxillium Ladrian is like John Wayne, but he’s snazzy and has noble blood. His deputy, Wayne, is a kleptomaniac with the habit of leaving something in place of the items he takes, so its trading and not stealing. After being a Lawman in the Outer Wastes for two decades he returns to the city Elendel to govern his new estate after the passing of his relatives. This brings him into more excitement when a group of bandits called the Vanishers begins robbing train cars and taking women hostage. He and Wayne are joined by Marasi, a surprisingly tough young Lady studying criminal justice and the famous Lord Ladrian. Marasi is a delightful character on her own and balances out the crazy parternship that Wax and Wayne maintain. Can I also point out that Sanderson has cleverly named his characters- Wax and Wayne…

I am SO SO SO excited to read Shadows of Self and see how the story unfolds! This is a great story and can be read separately from the first Mistborn trilogy, but you will miss out on some of the references and Easter eggs. Sanderson books are tremendously entertaining and well written, and The Alloy of Law is no different. Pick it up, give it a read, and share the book nerdery!!!

2 thoughts on “The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson – Review

Leave a Reply

