Currently Reading: 11/18/15

Wednesdays are the days that I like to try out different kinds of posts. Its a lot of fun for me and breaks up the monotony of only posting reviews AND I get to see what my readers seem to enjoy the most. As I imagine you guessed by the title, I’m going to tell you about what I’m currently reading, so here goes!


Cover- The Shadow Throne

The Shadow Throne by Django Wexler – I’m almost finished with this one and it’s been pretty cool so far. I’m a sucker for military-fantasy, so I almost always love this kind of thing and it hasn’t disappointed yet. This is the second book in the Shadow Campaigns series, with the first being The Thousand Names.

 

 

 

Cover- The Dragons of Dorcastle

The Dragons of Dorcastle by Jack Campbell – This is an Audible exclusive title. It is a fantasy novel, though it seems to be shorter in length than many fantasy titles, being only about 10 hours long. I’m liking well enough, though it’s definitely more of a 3.5-4 star title at the moment. I’m hoping that I’ll get more interested by the ending since sometimes it can take awhile to really get going in a series.

 

cover- phytomedicines

Phytomedicines, Herbal Drugs, and Poisons by Ben-Erik van Wyck – I LOVE THIS BOOK!! It is a non-fiction title, primarily focused on the various exciting uses of plants that fall into the categories mentioned in the titles. I had a huge nerd moment when I got it and realized what a great quality book it is, with cloth-binding, beautiful photographs of the specimens and thorough but brief facts about the active chemicals/compounds, medicinal uses, and toxicology. Can you actually fangirl over science? I’m pretty sure I did.

 

Cover- Deadhouse Gates

Deadhouse Gates by Steven Erikson – This is a reread that I’m slowly working my way through. I’ve read Deadhouse Gates probably 5 times now and its amazing and the ending destroys me. EVERY SINGLE TIME. If you love fantasy and haven’t read The Malazan Book of the Fallen series, I implore you; just give it a chance. Make it through Gardens of the Moon and the rest of the series is will be like a rare desert blooming flower unfurling before you. This series is like a journey- its tough at times, but it is a glorious journey nonetheless.

 

 

Leave a Reply

