Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – Review

Cover- Six of Crows

Published: September 29, 2015

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company

ISBN: 9781627792127

Pages: 465 (Hardcover)

Rating: 4.5/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.


I finally jumped on the Grishaverse bandwagon!! I finally see why everyone raves about this story world and will be buying the original Grisha trilogy to play catch-up. Six of Crows was pretty awesome, with gritty characters in a filthy society, and a crazy impossible heist to pull off. I got a Russian or Eastern European vibe from the worldbuilding, which is cool because I haven’t read any books with that sort of influence (I don’t think). If you haven’t seen the book you should because it has the coolest black edged pages and gorgeous maps- overall it reminds me of Dracula’s décor.

The six characters that the story centers around are all dark and/or broken in some way, sometimes literally and figuratively. Kaz, for instance, has a permanent limp but he’s also been psychologically damaged by the death of his brother when he was young. This has left him permanently burdened by guilt and a quest for vengeance that is incredibly determined. He has the perfect opportunity to exact his revenge, but he turns it down so he can play with his target more thoroughly at a later date. Messed up right? Yes, it is, but it’s also kinda awesome because in most books the target is in sight and is immediately dealt with and Kaz defies that trope. I could go into probably pages of discussion regarding each member of the team, but no one wants to read all that! How would they find time to read the book then?

The Grisha are way cool, they can heal, fabricate, control elements etc. I’m dying to read more about them! Six of Crows is and isn’t all about the Grisha- the heist relates to them, but it really centers all on these six daring individuals who are just barely not children. Obviously they’ve seen and done things that no teenager should, but they live primarily in the criminal element. When I really got into the story I forgot how old they were really supposed to be, so each was much older in my head than they were. I’m not even sure where I’m going with this thread of thought…

Can I just say that this book was great and totally worth the wait!? It was brutal at times, and I was on the edge of my seat for the last half of it hoping that the characters would survive with each turn of the page and then, after all this suspense, I was left with a cliff hanger! Gosh, it was pretty awesome though! I have to say that even though it was great, it was not a 5 star book because I’m not emotionally traumatized or elated. As I review more and more books and give them real consideration, I find that a 5 star book will leave me thinking about it for days and turning pieces over in my mind until the edges are worn smooth. This was not quite on that level for me, though maybe after further thought I’ll reconsider.

3 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – Review

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve only read Shadow and Bone in the series so far, though I own the other two to complete the trilogy. I’m hoping I’ll be able to pick this up once I finish those (whenever that happens to be!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

