The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black – Review

Cover- The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Published: September 3, 2013

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780316213103

Pages: 419 (Hardcover)

Rating: 4.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.


 

This was a surprisingly good book, with a fresh spin on vampirism that I thoroughly enjoyed. Vampires are practically commonplace after an outbreak of the disease changes the world. Vampires and those who have “gone cold” are quarantined in areas called Coldtowns, where they carry on with their lives and some even become celebrities. The story begins with a party going very, very wrong. Dozens of teens are murdered and drained of blood, while Tana remains alive and her off-again boyfriend has been bitten. The next step is obvious- head to Coldtown and try to stay alive, maybe even go into self imposed exile for three months and wait out the disease…
I’ve heard good things about this book, and I’ve read Holly Black’s series of faerie books (Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside) which I enjoyed immensely, so I picked it up. I’m actually a bit put out with myself that I didn’t read it much sooner because it was pretty great. It was a refreshing post-Twilight era read that defied my expectations page after page. Tana was a strong and resourceful lead character and she just seemed so chill through pretty much everything. Gavriel…. Well, you’ll know what I’m trying to say if you’ve read it. He’s like the real MVP of this book. Most valuable person. Male vampire persona. Whatever, he’s the best.
I think I would really love a movie of this… I’m not super attached, so even if the movie was just an okay adaptation, it would probably still be really awesome. Especially the vampire nightclub scenes where people are just dying to get bitten and everyone is dressed up in their own definition of finery. I just have this image in my head of what it should look like, aaaand now I’ve got to go look up fanart.
This is definitely a page turner and I got really into the storyline and the characters, so much so that I spent most of my weekend holed up in my room reading. Holly Black writes great stuff and I’ll be sure to catch up on all her books I haven’t read yet. If you haven’t read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown yet, be sure to pick it up. As of today (12/11/15), Books- A -Million has it in their bargain section and it is on Bookoutlet.com for $3.99. No excuses.

Leave a Reply

