Air Awakens by Elise Kova – Review

Cover- Air Awakens

Published: August 27, 2015

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

ISBN: 9781932549935

Pages: 377 (Paperback)

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

Synopsis:

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.


This series may have been my most anticipated Christmas gift this year and as soon as I recovered from my Christmas food coma I dived into Air Awakens. This was one of the absolute best books I have read the entire year of 2015. That means this is ranking with books like Golden Son by Pierce Brown and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas for me. I’m officially joining the choir that sings the praises of these beautiful stories because I am so loving them! Figuratively, of course, as no one would really like to hear me sing.

Elise has created a stunning cast of characters- I loved them instantly and they just got better and better with every page I turned. Vhalla Yarl, the figure gracing the cover of the novel, is a library apprentice who spends nearly as much time reading as she does working and she is just darling! Her reactions to many of her exciting situations are just so relatable- I could see myself making the same choices and feeling the same way she feels about them. The Crown Prince Aldrick is wonderfully integral to Vhalla’s development into a stronger, more resilient character and I love that he isn’t so perfect himself. He’s got such excellent control of his emotions until he gets furious and then he sets chairs on fire and breaks priceless knick-knacks. The ‘companion characters’ are nearly as vividly detailed as Vhalla and Aldrick and add so much solidity to the story arch. Larel, Sareem, Fitz, Roan, and Baldair make appearances when their presence will most enrich the story (in my opinion).

The plot itself is a traditional coming of age or finding yourself type thing, but this is something I’ve always enjoyed and many times I enjoy the first novel of a series more than any of the others. I think I love origin stories- finding out from the beginning what makes a character is such fun and Vhalla’s story is no different. She starts out questing for knowledge and daydreaming of a prince and at the end she’s doing much of the same things but her perspective has shifted and so many aspects of her life have changed. It’s ALL about the journey.

My one thing (it’s not really an issue and I don’t know what else to call it) is that Vhalla seems to be going between one fellow and another whenever things get a bit difficult or awkward with another. I just don’t want there to be love triangles!! Don’t get me wrong, love triangles are fun to read about sometimes, but mostly they are frustrating because it’s so obvious who will end up with who. Vhalla isn’t really in love with the other guys she runs to when things are difficult with Aldrick, but she get’s their attention. Now that I think about it… I’m not sure she’s even running to them, they just seem to show up when they sense an opening. Anyways, that’s all I’ll say about that because whether or not there is a love triangle doesn’t really matter all that much.

The hype around Air Awakens is well deserved and it’s SO worth reading! Please give it a read and share the love!

Leave a Reply

