Fire Falling by Elise Kova – Review

Cover- Fire Falling

Published: November 19, 2015

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

ISBN: 9781619849525

Pages: 378 (Paperback)

My Rating: 6.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Soldier… Sorcerer… Savior… Who is Vhalla Yarl?

Vhalla Yarl marches to war as property of the Solaris Empire. The Emperor counts on her to bring victory, the Senate counts on her death, and the only thing Vhalla can count on is the fight of her life. As she grapples with the ghosts of her past, new challenges in the present threaten to shatter the remnants of her fragile sanity. Will she maintain her humanity? Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

Fire Falling is the second book in the Air Awakens Series.


Immediately after I finished Air Awakens I ran and picked up Fire Falling from my pile of books. It’s rare that I fall so immediately in love with a book series and I’ve absolutely devoured these like I was starved for the written word. I read both books in one single day and had the most massive book hangover ever and it was AWESOME. I went to sleep with thoughts of Vhalla and Aldrick and woke up with thoughts tumbling over what could possibly happen in the third book.

Fire Falling picks up right after the events of Air Awakens left off and Vhalla is preparing to go to war as property of the crown. She will train on the march and hope she can learn enough to survive while at the same time try to maintain her relationship with Aldrick and not have a breakdown. Vhalla basically goes from a scared girl, just coming into her own to a powerful Windwalker that can pretty much hold her ground in battle. Her enemies call her the Wind Demon and fear her presence. Aldrick becomes less aloof in Fire Falling and begins to show much more humanity and emotion than I expected from him. Their relationship is a dance where they circle one another and briefly touch, only to move away from one another again. Simply put, it is beautiful.

There were moments in this book that were so powerfully emotional and shocking that I was left without words. Let’s just say that Vhalla is a strong woman, but she will only endure so much before I fear she will snap. That snap might be really awesome, or really, really bad. The ending of the book left me reeling and I simply MUST have Earth’s End the moment it’s released. SHOCKING. APPALLING. WOW.

I’ve honestly considered breaking the laws of fractions, and giving this a 6/5. Oh wait. I CAN DO THAT. Anyways, I know I haven’t waxed as eloquently about Fire Falling as I did about Air Awakens, but that’s because my mind is basically shrieking about the book and my heart is in full ship mode. I am still so excited about the story and well, everything that I’m glad that I’ve formed this many coherent thoughts. If my review of Air Awakens didn’t persuade you, I will again state that Elise Kova is a fantastic writer and you should check out her books because they’re beautiful! I forgot to mention earlier how beautiful the cover art is. The renderings of Vhalla and Alrdrick are spot on and the artist, Merilliza Chan is supremely talented.

Leave a Reply

