The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon – Review

Cover- The Mime Order

Published: January 27, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury

ISBN: 9781408857397

Pages: 510 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 4.5/5.0

Synopsis:

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.


Part alternate history, part dystopian fantasy, The Mime Order is simply fantastic. Samantha Shannon has done a phenomenal job continuing the excitement and novelty found in The Bone Season where we were first introduced to the voyants of London. Paige Mahoney, aka the Pale Dreamer has escaped from Sheol I with a small group of survivors and is now trying to hide from Scion and survive in London.

It took me a little bit to get back into the storyline and remember what was happening at the end of book one since it’s been about five months and 50+ other books. Once my memory was refreshed, I dived right in and barely put it down for two days. It was so great! The whole thing was just excitement from start to finish; Paige really matured as a character and we got to see much more of the Seven Dials gang. The ending held some really great accomplishments and one heck of a plot twist. I had such a moment of “I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN” that I basically threw the book down on my bed and sat stunned for a moment. If you’ve read the Bone Season, you should absolutely continue the series. It’s so worth it!

1 Month Later…

So, I went to post this review and realized that I forgot to actually finish it… Silly me!

I though The Mime Order was a fantastic sequel and I loved that we got to return to the Seven Dials and Scion controlled London. It was so interesting getting to see more of the gang traditions, politics, and plots and have them really fleshed out rather than being this unreachable idea in your head. Paige is hardcore, mentally and physically, even after the trauma of being captured and tormented by the Rephaim for months. She doesn’t disappoint, especially at the end of the novel with such a crucial event occurring that will change the whole tone of book three.

I’m super excited to read The Song Rising when it’s released in late 2016! I’ll have to do a mini-refresher of the first two novels since it’s going to be so long before the release, but it’s totally going to be worth it. I highly, highly recommend this series and I’m looking forward to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

