Parasite by Mira Grant – Review

Cover- Parasite

Published: October 29, 2013

Publisher: Orbit

Genre: Sci-Fi

Pages: 512 (Hardcover)

ISBN: 9780316218955

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

Synopsis:

A decade in the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease.

We owe our good health to a humble parasite – a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. When implanted, the tapeworm protects us from illness, boosts our immune system – even secretes designer drugs. It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams. Now, years on, almost every human being has a SymboGen tapeworm living within them.

But these parasites are getting restless. They want their own lives…and will do anything to get them.


Freaky freaky freaky!!! Parasite was incredibly perturbing to someone like me who really dislikes the idea of parasitic worms inside people. The entire plot of the story centers on genetically modified tapeworms being used as medicinal tools, which is a concept I find to be intriguing and disgusting. Despite the fact that I hate parasitic worms, the book was really fantastic- definitely a sci-fi thriller! I loved that there was a fair bit of scientific and technical jargon used in the story that I understood perfectly fine. Really puttin’ that biology degree to use, huh? I had several moments where I was like, “Diphyllobothrium? Toxoplasma? I KNOW WHAT THOSE ARE!” and it was just fantastic.

The entire story is one big mystery after another, but you (the reader) know something is up and you can ALMOST put your finger on it, but not quite. I knew there was something wrong with the main character from the very beginning of the novel, and I had my suspicions… Sally Mitchell wakes up from a coma and can’t remember anything about her life. She can’t speak, doesn’t know her name, and isn’t quite sure what a human even is. The alarm bells are ringing now. Something isn’t right with her, but it took me until the very end of the book to 100% confirm that my suspicions were correct. I rather shocked my mom when I yelled “I KNEW IT” and slammed the book shut.

I was so drawn in by Mira Grant’s writing and the storyline- I could completely immerse myself in the story, no matter if I read for 15 minutes or 2+ hours, which really speaks volumes about the author’s talent. I have a hard time really getting into a book if I read a little here and there. I pretty much prefer to marathon books over the course of a day or two (or three for a long one) because I can dive into the world and appreciate the characters and their emotions so much more. I enjoyed every page of Parasite, which read like a thriller with a little bit of zombie apocalypse mixed in.

This is the first novel in the Parasitology trilogy aaaand I just got really excited because the entire series is out!! The second book is called Symbiont, which has a blue cover and has what appear to be electron micrograph images on it, but to be honest I’m not sure. At first glance I thought they were agar plates with cultures growing on them… Book three is called Chimera and my TBR list just got two books longer. I highly recommend this book because I thought it was really quite awesome and I think some of my blog readers will enjoy it too!

2 thoughts on “Parasite by Mira Grant – Review

  1. Have you ever read her other series Newsflesh? I think I would have liked this more if I hadn’t read Feed first, as the stories were very similar. Feed was actually about the zombie post-apocalypse, so you might like that one too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

