Earth’s End by Elise Kova – Review

Cover- Earth's End

Published: February 11, 2016

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 350 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire, a weapon risen from blood.

Vhalla Yarl has made it to the warfront in the North. Forged by blood and fire, she has steeled her heart for the final battle of the Solaris Empire’s conquest. The choices before Vhalla are no longer servitude or freedom, they are servitude or death. The stakes have never been higher as the Emperor maintains his iron grip on her fate, holding everything Vhalla still has left to lose in the balance.


I read Earth’s End in FOUR HOURS, which has got to be some kind of record for me. I didn’t stop long enough to even need a bookmark because it sucked me into the world of Vhalla Yarl so quickly. The story picks up shortly after the events of Fire Falling which, if you recall, had one of the most killer cliffhangers I’ve read in some time. My emotions were in turmoil! Seriously though, Elise has written some of the most addictive books I’ve read in my entire life! There’s a bare handful of other series that I feel so strongly about, and they’re all major names in the book industry. Elise is ranking with such august persons as Brandon Sanderson, Pierce Brown, and Patrick Rothfuss at the moment in terms of bookish excitement/awesomeness.

As I expected, the each and every character gets even more impressive in Earth’s End. Vhalla becoming a strong individual, needing Aldrik’s protection less than ever while Aldrik continues to be dark, mysterious, and attractive. Actually, Aldrik’s opened up quite a bit, but he’s got some serious mood swings and drowns his problems in various forms of alcohol. Fortunately, he hasn’t gotten so bad as to resort to drinking wood alcohol (methanol). Besides, shouldn’t a Firebearer stay away from things that are highly flammable? Baldair, Fritz, Elecia, Daniel and co. are all wonderful and supportive, while not distracting from the central focus of the story. I grow to like Baldair more and more as he appears throughout the books- he’s just such a good, sincere fellow.

I feel like this story focused more on the relationship between Vhalla and Aldrik than the war, other people, political issues etc. Now, I’m totally okay with this, but I think the whole siege of Soricium could have used more detail, the culture could have been fleshed out much more, and please someone go over the whole crystal weapons again. The crystal axe just came up all of a sudden it seemed (maybe it was explained before, but I don’t remember) and some parts felt rushed, especially near the end. I’m CRAVING more details! I also nearly had a fit at the end when a certain revelation was made. Yeah, if you’ve read it you know exactly what I mean. Vhalla is going to be taking a very different path in Water’s Wrath, which will be released in May. I hope she rocks the lone, weapon wielding warrior vibe to the best of her ability. No moping, go conquer something!

Overall, Elise Kova has written a wonderfully compelling story yet again! I can’t recommend this series enough to fans of the YA Fantasy genre. It elicits major emotions, which entirely makes up for any minor thing that I whined about in the previous paragraph. WONDERFUL!!

Leave a Reply

