Snakewood by Adrian Selby – Review

Cover- Snakewood
 Published: March 15, 2016
Publisher: Orbit
Pages: 432 (Hardcover)
My Rating: Did Not Finish
Synopsis:

Once they were a band of mercenaries who shook the pillars of the world through cunning, alchemical brews, and cold steel. Whoever met their price won.

Now, their glory days behind them, scattered to the wind, and their genius leader in hiding, they are being hunted down and eliminated one by one.

A lifetime of enemies has its own price.

Adrian Selby brings us into an unforgettable new world filled with magic, mystery, intrigue, bloodshed and betrayal.


For months I’ve been looking forward to getting a copy of Snakewood and I received a copy from NetGalley for review. I was so excited but when I started reading…UGH. The premise was immediately attention grabbing and the cover art was gorgeous. Unfortunately the story was not on the level I was hoping it would be on. It was painfully difficult to get into, mainly due to the narrator and the method by which the story was told. It’s told in snippets of first-hand accounts from members of the mercenary company Kailen’s Twenty. Sure, this seems like a fantastic idea, but it was terribly confusing and the grammar was local vernacular. This can really add to a story, but in this case it hindered it. I’ve heard consistently that it gets much better after about 100 pages, but I couldn’t make myself read any farther. Perhaps at a later date I’ll try to re-read this.

If you want to read a review from someone who’s read the entire book I would recommend Mogsy over at The Bibliosanctum. You can find the post HERE.

4 thoughts on “Snakewood by Adrian Selby – Review

  1. Thanks for the shout out! Sorry to hear this didn’t work for you, but you’re definitely not the only one! I t think out of about a dozen people I know who started this book, only two or three have finished. The beginning really is a struggle, and while the style smooths out by leaps and bounds later in the book, it’s really quite a lot to ask of a reader.

    Like

  2. Yeah, the beginning really is a struggle and more recently I’ve been putting books down if I’m not enjoying them because it feels like book torture otherwise but for some reason i was grimly determined to complete this and it did get better after the first third. I still only rated it as 3.5 because I think that struggle at the start should be taken into account. It’s a shame because the author was going for something different but the choppy first few chapters and vernacular style that you mentioned really did put a damper on this for most people. Its also a shame because I was so looking forward to it which I guess could have added to the disappointment a little.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  3. Oh yeah, this was a STRUGGLE. My most anticipated debut novel of the year! Did a little dance when I was granted a review copy on the NetGalley! All the excitement quickly dissipated when I starting reading it… and it more than gone by the time I finally DFNed at 39% (little over 150 pages). Too many problems to list here, but yeah, not very good at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

