Water’s Wrath by Elise Kova – Review

Cover- Water's Wrath

Published: April 26, 2016

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 350 (Paperback)

My Rating: 4.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.

The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe, and Vhalla must tread carefully or else she’ll fall into the waiting arms of her greatest foe. Or former lover.


A few weeks ago I received an eARC of Water’s Wrath from Elise and I very nearly jumped out of my chair and did a happy dance. As soon as I finished the book I was currently reading, I jumped into this book and as per my usual course, finished it in about four hours. Water’s Wrath is a page-turner, without a doubt, but there were so many moments where I was just shouting “NO NO NO!!!” that it’s kind of tainted my opinion. I was actually quite sad when I finished because I just couldn’t believe so much good and bad could happen in one book. I WAS STUNNED. Still am.

After the CRUSHING events of Earth’s End, I hoped that things would get better and everyone would be joyfully reunited and dancing with wild abandon. Let’s just say that while there were some lovely reunions, there was a disproportionate amount of emotionally traumatic events in this book. Everything just kind of hit the fan all at once. I will say that I continue to love Vhalla as a main character- she’s a beast with both her magical and swordplay skills. She continues to develop, and we get to see Vhalla’s transition back to civilian life, but she’s a magnet for trouble so nothing stays quiet for very long!

Once again, Elise Kova writes an emotionally compelling story, but events seem to happen at an accelerated rate. I like to bask languidly in the events of stories (well, like 50% of the time) and really just let the events kind of wash over me. The events in Water’s Wrath happened like surprise right hooks from a champion fighter- they happened suddenly and hurt right in the feels! The story itself is going in a really interesting direction that I didn’t expect, which is something that I’m enjoying and it’s making me really excited for the release of Crystal Crowned in July.

Because of the emotional trauma and the speed of the events I can’t quite give this a 5/5 like I have for the previous books, but it’s still an incredible story. If you’re looking for straightforward awesomeness or a lighter read, then I highly recommend you check out this series. Water’s Wrath is an incredibly appropriate title and when I look back at the previous books, each follows a similar trend. I can’t wait until the rest of the fans get to read this book in April- I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s reactions!!

Leave a Reply

