The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

Cover- The Raven Boys

Published: September 18, 2012

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 416 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 4.5/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.


AT LONG LAST, I HAVE BEGUN THIS SERIES! I’ve had The Raven Boys on my TBR for at least a year, if not much longer and after winning a copy from a Goodreads Giveaway, there was no longer a reason to put it off. In a way, I’m glad that I waited this long because the final book in the Raven Cycle is released in April, so I can pretty much binge read the whole series. No waiting around for any more books.

The most important part of any book is having a good cast of characters. Gansey, Ronan, Noah, Adam, and Blue were just so fantastic! I liked how each person had such a distinct personality- no overlaps in sight and as a result I can’t pick a single favorite character. Gansey was pretty wonderful with his intelligence and passion for obscure historical stuff. Adam was down to earth, Ronan was an open flame, Noah was… haunting. Blue was quirky and kind. I’m anticipating serious character development in the next three books!

I was really impressed by the blend of history, magic, and young adultness that this book captured. I also really loved that it was set in Virginia, which is my home state and I know the beauty of the landscape, particularly the mountains, in all seasons. The characters spent quite a lot of time outdoors, so that statement was totally relevant. The whole idea that Gansey is searching out this lost king’s tomb is just really unique and would translate just as well into an adult fantasy novel as a YA novel. The Raven King is mentioned in a number of other books I’ve read and the whole concept is ingrained as this wonderful image in my mind. The Raven Boys was a great introduction to a wonderfully rich and magical version of Virginia. Did I mention there was a spectacular plot revelation in there? I never saw that one coming in a million years… (Noah!?).

Overall, I loved this book for so many reasons and I’m so glad I finally read it. This is a great start to a much loved series and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on the rest of these books! Just from reading this one book, I would have to say that Maggie Stiefvater is a very talented writer. I’m in awe of how much I enjoyed reading The Raven Boys, which I read in a single sitting. This was followed by a serious book hangover headache.

2 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

Leave a Reply

