The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

Cover- The Raven King

Published: April 26, 2016

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 439 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 3.5/5.0

 

 

Synopsis:

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.


The Raven King is probably one of the most anticipated releases of the entirety of 2016 and I was so excited to get my hands on it. The final installment of the Raven Cycle series was glorious to be hold in its slightly pearlescent beauty and I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures of it.

DSC_3512

This was a good story, but I thought that the events were odd and didn’t really mesh all that well with the events in previous books. It worked, but I expected more PIZAZZ or fulfillment or something. I did love the conclusion though… it was perfect and totally normal. I had such a big smile on my face at the end that I was basically the Cheshire cat minus the occasional invisibility.

Gansey, Blue, Ronan, and Adam have each come very far in terms of character development since the first book. Each character meshes with the others so well and their relationship dynamics are so realistic- Maggie Stiefvater writes the best characters! There was one bump in the road though and that was Henry Cheng. I liked him- he fit in well with the others but he was really unnecessary, as was the whole Seondok aspect of the story. The addition of Henry Cheng seemed kind of last minute and wasn’t as seamlessly blended into the weft of the storyline.

Overall, I’m disappointed that this series started out so much stronger than it finished. The Raven King was a letdown in some ways, but it made me ridiculously happy in others. The lackluster appearance of Glendower was probably the most disappointing part of the whole book because I was SO ready for it to be this big magical fanfare, but it was so emotionless for me. I barely even cared. Did anyone else feel like this or am I just totally in left field?

5 thoughts on “The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

  1. What was your favourite book in the series.

    I like Henry but I either wish he was put in earlier or had a smaller role tin this book. I was really saddened by the Glendower conclusion because i don’t think it was justified considering it was the main focal point of the story.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow, this might be first review I’ve seen for this book that is less than completely glowing. Thank goodness, because admittedly I get nervous when a book gets hyped so much. I’m still determined to finish this series, but thank you so much for a new perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! Everyone else seems to be gushing their little hearts out over it! I was underwhelmed by some pretty key parts, but it still made me kinda happy 🙂

      Like

  3. “more PIZAZZ or fulfillment or something.”

    Totally agree with you! I just wrote my own review saying a lot of the same things. I loved this series, but my expectations for this last book were really, really high, which made it kind of a letdown. But still a 5-star read. If that makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

