The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury – Review

cover-the-sin-eaters-daughter

Published: February 24, 2015

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Pages: 312 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 3.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has its price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girl she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous as the queen’s, some truths should not be told…


I’ve admired the cover of The Sin Eater’s Daughter since I first saw it last year splattered all over the bookish Instagram feeds I follow. I was even more curious to know what the heck a sin eater was. I’ve previously heard the term but never actually figured out what it meant à A person who takes on the sins of the recently deceased through a ritual meal.

The plot of the story was different, yet at the same time very alike that of other YA novels. Twylla, the sin eater’s daughter, is now the palace executioner (and holy woman) because she’s the reincarnated daughter of the gods. She hangs out in her temple, embroideries stuff, is terrified of the evil queen, and oh yeah, she kills people with a single touch. The court fears her and she is almost completely isolated except from the members of the royal family, who are immune to her killing touch because divine right.

Allow me to break from my usual reviewing style and give you a list of my issues with this book. This will contain spoilers.

  • Insta-Love – Twylla gets a new guard (Lief) who’s a rather handsome hunk and doesn’t seem to fear her touch. She falls in love. Prince Merek is also handsome, but kind of broody. She’s totally cool with marrying him. WHY OH WHY IS THIS OKAY!? AUTHORS, PLEASE SPARE US.
  • Alchemy as an Economic Solution – MY GOD. WHY. The queen wants alchemist. Why? “Because the alchemists can turn stuff into gold, and that’s the answer to all the economic problems. Now we can finance a war.” I’m physically cringing right now. Even in a fantasy world, this is not okay. Congratulations, the value of gold has plummeted and now it’s only good for slingshot ammo and home décor.
  • Twylla is weak – Yeah, not all MC’s can be powerful, sword-wielding beasts, but Twylla is so weak. Everyone pushes her around, but she is apparently chosen of the gods. Oh wait. I forgot to mention, she’s actually not. The queen is using her as a pawn to keep her subjects in line with fear. The saddest part is Twylla thinks she’s special and toxic. She’s never questioned what the ‘poison’ vial they give her to drink. The only choices she’s ever made have been bad ones.
  • The Queen – is a psycho. I think it’s all the in-breeding. I just can’t believe that no one assassinated this woman just to rid the kingdom of her pestilential presence. She deserved it. She hunted people with hounds. She tried to have her friend killed for the treasonous act of being pregnant. She poisoned the king. She wanted to marry her own son. The list goes on and on and on.
  • The Ending—The end part of the book is where the whole purpose of the book comes to light. Twylla is essentially useless as far as I can tell. She’s there for the love story. Oh and by the way, Lief was hired by the queen to seduce Twylla. Where did that even come from?? It just doesn’t fit! Also, when did Twylla learn how to read?

This book has SO many issues in my opinion, but the worst part is that I TORE THROUGH IT. I read it so fast because I wanted to see what happened next. It’s like eating a whole pint of ice cream. It’s delicious (not good for you), and you keep eating. All of a sudden you’re scraping the bottom and regretting it because you’re lactose intolerant. This book was pure junk food – so entertaining but not a great piece of lit.

I recommend it if you want a cheesy love story. Or if you want something to just shake your head at. I could have gone on and on about things I just couldn’t believe were happening. It was crazy, but I couldn’t stop reading it. This book gets a 3/5 entirely because I was so entertained and I just HAD to see what was going to happen next.

4 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury – Review

  1. That was one of the most annoying books I read (or actually listened to, but if I had to read it it would end up as DNF). Twylla annoyed me, the love triangle annoyed me, the queen behaved like a spoiled child and everything they did seemed to be pointless :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

