Friday Face Off: This Solitary Tree

The Friday Face off is a weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy and the official rules can be found here.  This is a fun way to feature your favorite book covers and show off your favorite edition!


This solitary tree – a living thing, a cover with a tree or trees

My pick this week is The Magicians by Lev Grossman.

This is one of my favorite series that I’ve read in 2016- big surprise there! I couldn’t believe the variety of covers that I found. What you see above is only a portion of the beautiful editions that are available all over the world, but these are my favorites. It was tough to pick a winner this week, but here it is.

The Winner Is:

cover-the-magicians5

It is rare that I find an edition that I like better than the US or UK ones, but this cover from the Chinese edition is stunning. I’m in love with the colors, the scenery, and the clock tree with all the little keys. I wish I had this to add to my shelves. I’m also a fan of the Spanish edition, which I think is whimsical and very magician-y. The 3 covers on the top row are all appealing, but nothing particularly special. The first one is actually kind of  bleak an empty- not at all how I picture Fillory. Do you agree/disagree/want to have a throwdown over differing opinions?

 

3 thoughts on “Friday Face Off: This Solitary Tree

  1. I agree with you on your cover choice. The others are not all that appealing. I have yet to read this series, and the US cover has never made me want to add it to my shelf. I’ve watched half of the show and it’s good, but I’ve heard so many mixed reviews. I think I’ll read the series at some point. Does it remind you too much of adult Harry Potter and Narnia? That’s the vibe I got from the show.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I watched 5 or 6 episodes and liked it. It’s got serious Narnia parallels, especially this first book, and there’s a bit of Harry Potter. I typically judge and frown upon books that rip from other series like that, but I really liked all the books!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

