Beyond the Shadows by Brent Weeks – Review

cover-beyond-the-shadowsPublished: December 1, 2008

Publisher: Orbit

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 689 (Mass Market)

My Rating: 4.5/5.0

Synopsis:

Logan Gyre is king of Cenaria, a country under siege, with a threadbare army and little hope. He has one chance — a desperate gamble, but one that could destroy his kingdom.

In the north, the new Godking has a plan. If it comes to fruition, no one will have the power to stop him.

Kylar Stern has no choice. To save his friends-and perhaps his enemies-he must accomplish the impossible: assassinate a goddess.


THE GRAND FINALE! Beyond the Shadows had its ups and downs, but mostly it was awesome. As I have mentioned in my reviews of book 1 and book 2, I was not quite as impressed as everyone else seemed to be with book 1, but decided to continue reading anyways. It’s a good thing I did, too, otherwise I would have missed on something awesome! This is definitely going to be a shorter review because I feel like I just keep repeating myself.

Prepare yourself for epic battles, some crushing revelations, and further exposure to the other cultures mentioned previously that were underrepresented. The characters- Kylar, Elene, Vi, Logan, and especially Dorian have all grown so much from how they were first presented to us in The Way of Shadow. The world building continued to improve and was much more fleshed out than I had expected it to be by the end. I do wish that there would have been more information provided about the great heroes of the past. Some of the tidbits about Jorsen AlKestian and the bearers of the kakari didn’t have a strong impact because we as readers knew so little about them.

I think this was a great ending to a story that took me a little while get to know and love, but was well worth it and thoroughly diverting. You could almost see Brent Week’s authorship evolving as the Night Angel trilogy progressed- each book was better than the previous. This is a great book for those who like their heroes a little less white knight and a little more bloodstained, morally grey man in shadows.

Leave a Reply

