Lament by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

cover-lament

Published: October 8, 2008

Publisher: Flux

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 325 (Paperback)

My Rating: 2.5/5.0

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She’s about to find out she’s also a cloverhand – one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass – a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky – and equally dangerous – dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen’s sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren’t so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn’t exactly what she had in mind . . .


Lament is one of Maggie Stiefvater’s stories from before her immensely popular series The Raven Cycle was released. I’d heard very little about the book, but when I found it in a used book store I decided that I couldn’t pass up the opportunity. I was excited to see that the edition I picked up was a 1st/1st no less! Did I also mention how much I love the Fae? Well, Lament is a story of the Fae, which made me even happier.

I love books about musicians. No particular reason, they’ve just always appealed to me and maybe it’s because I have absolutely ZERO musical talent. Deirdre Monaghan is a talented harpist from a talented family and she has attracted the attention of the Faerie queen, which is never good. Luke Dillon is not quite human and not quite Fae, and is much more than he first appears to be. The two meet at a music competition where they form an uncannily talented duet. From there it’s history. I liked the pair well enough, but honestly my favorite was Deirdre best friend James, who was so cruelly ignored in favor of the handsome and mysterious Luke.

This had some very stereotypical YA elements that are frustrating in their mediocrity. Good girl falls for mysterious, clearly unsavory guy with shady past. Good girl, who is also supposed to be smart, becomes vapidly stupid when it comes to her own well-being. I proceed to roll my eyes and continue reading, because it’s not that bad. For real though, the bad boy told you that he MURDERED PEOPLE, but you’re okay with it because he said he wouldn’t murder you… whatever.  Did I mention the other YA norms of insta-love, the friendzone, and the hastily done conclusion? Geez, that was only a small portion of my ranting potential.

This book took me an unacceptably long time to read for such a short book and while I liked it, Lament was certainly not Stiefvater’s strongest book. Her writing has improved tremendously since this was published, which is fantastic because Lament was underwhelming. I’m not sure if I’ll bother to read the sequel since I’ve got such a selection of other books to choose from.

8 thoughts on “Lament by Maggie Stiefvater – Review

  1. I read Lament a few months ago (my first Maggie Stiefvater read, btw) and was also underwhelmed by it. But I think it was partly because it was Stiefvater’s first book, and partly because of the story. So I want to give her writing another chance, since some of her later books sound really good. I’m hoping to have some time for The Scorpio Races next year

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the Raven Boys series by this author and I didn’t like the plot. I also heard of the Shiver series but I don’t think I have seen any reviews for this Lament series.. Is this book more character driven as well?

    Like

  3. Don’t write Ballad off because of Lament! It hardly has anything to do with this debut, and I prefer to think of it as more-or-less a better standalone than a sequel. I think it’s much better than Lament, and I’m rather fond of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

