The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron – Review

cover-the-fell-sword

Published: March 11, 2014

Publisher: Orbit

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 640 (Paperback)

My Rating: 4.5/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Loyalty costs money.

Betrayal, on the other hand, is free.

When the Emperor is taken hostage, the Red Knight and his men find their services in high demand — and themselves surrounded by enemies. The country is in revolt, the capital city is besieged and any victory will be hard won. But the Red Knight has a plan.

The question is, can he negotiate the political, magical, real and romantic battlefields at the same time — especially when he intends to be victorious on them all?


The books of the Traitor Son Cycle intimidate me- not because of the size of the book, but rather because I know I’ll have to commit days of my time towards reading them. They are incredibly dense, but rich in entertainment. The Fell Sword is the second installment in the series, which (I think) is going to be 5 books once complete.

Despite being an equally hefty tome, The Fell Sword was a much quicker read than The Red Knight. My theory is that this is because I knew who all the characters were and by the end of TRK I had been irredeemably sucked into Cameron’s fictional world. I continue to be fascinated by the Captain, from his past to his present situation and how he handles each turn of events. He’s dangerously clever and proud as a peacock but it’s almost always justified. I think my favorite character might be Bad Tom though… he’s just so grumpy and, well, bad. The whole host of characters- significant or otherwise- adds so much vibrancy to the story and makes it feel so genuine.

The plot of The Fell Sword was somewhat more politically oriented than TRK, which I liked. Don’t get me wrong, there were plenty of descriptive battles but the fighting began to take on more of a Roman Legion style. The tactics were cunning and the war-making felt more organized rather than being a chaotic one-on-one melee. In this installment there’s also quite a bit more world building. We get much more knowledge about the other regions, cultures, and kingdoms and I find that it was extremely enriching without being overwhelming.

The Traitor Son Cycle is a great series with tons of entertainment value and they’re such BIG BOOKS! I can’t wait to continue on with the series because I think each installment will continue to get more awesome. Peace out and happy reading.

2 thoughts on “The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron – Review

  1. Great review, I love this series and am currently reading the latest one.😀

    The Captain is a great character, he has some unlikeable traits but there’s something about him that’s really captivating and high praise for Bad Tom, some of the things he comes out with are quality!😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

