The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz – Review

cover-the-rains

Published: October 18, 2016

Publisher: Tor Teen

Genre: Young Adult, SciFi, Horror

Pages: 352 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 4.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek’s Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding. Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen—and Patrick’s birthday is only a few weeks away.

Determined to save Patrick’s life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites—and what they find is horrifying.

Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity’s only hope for salvation.


Okay Gregg, you really managed to creep me out with this one. The Rains is not your typical zombie apocalypse thriller, but rather one with just enough science fiction woven in to make it unique. A mysterious meteor shatters the peace of Creek’s Cause, a small rural town that seems to have more cattle than people in residence, and sanity quickly dissolves into an atmosphere of terror and confusion. Anyone over the age of 18 becomes infected by spores released from some alien plant and they change. Their eyes burn out of their heads and they begin capturing children and caging them for some foul purpose…

I was not at all sure I would like this because *gasp* I’ve never actually read a book about zombies. What I have read is a book about mind controlling parasites, and I loved that one so, because this leaned away from the traditional zombie thing, I figured I’d give it a go. I was really surprised at how much I did end up enjoying this one. I zoomed right along and next thing you know I was turning to the last page. The Rains was fast-paced and intense from almost the very first page and kept me awake longer than anticipated. Dreams (or nightmares) of eyeless horrors haunted me in the wee hours of the morning and further interrupted my sleep. Go Gregg! That’s how you know you’ve written something properly scary, when you’re readers are huddling down under their covers and hiding from their own imaginations.

The story was really well done, especially for YA horror… up until the end. The ending was frustrating because this would have been a wonderful standalone, provided you didn’t care about a happy ending. This however turned into the “special character(s) hold the key to humanity’s salvation and they didn’t even know it”. I nearly threw the book across the room, but even at my lowest I cannot do that to a book. The ending is what decreased my opinion somewhat and I think I’ll just pretend that it was a standalone unless I see high ratings for the sequel.

In short, a very entertaining read that will appeal to fans of YA zombie and/or horror books. Also, I guess on a scale of 1 – “I’m going to faint I’m so terrified”, this won’t be very scary to most people. It’s certainly got a factor of creepiness but it’s not going to blow your mind with terror. I’d love to hear the opinions of my fellow bloggers on this one if any of you have read it!

3 thoughts on “The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz – Review

Leave a Reply

