The Last Sacrifice by James A. Moore – Review

cover-the-last-sacrifice

Published: January 3, 2017

Publisher: Angry Robot Books

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 400 (Paperback)

My Rating: 2.5/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Since time began, the Grakhul – immortal servants of the gods – have taken human sacrifices to keep the world in balance and the gods appeased. When they choose the family of warrior Brogan McTyre, everything changes.

Brogan begins the toughest battle of his life to free his family from their terrible fate. But when you challenge the gods, you challenge the very fabric of society. Declared an outcast, Brogan and his kin are hunted like criminals – but nothing will stand in his way.


I was excited to receive a copy of The Last Sacrifice from NetGalley since I’ve been curious about James A. Moore’s The Blasted Lands series for some time. Rather than catching up on that one, I decided that his new series would be a great place to start.

The premise of the book was something that really appealed to me and the story started out quite dramatically. However, after the initial wow I struggled to maintain a level of interest that made me want to keep turning pages. I think the biggest reason for this was that the character really didn’t resonate with me at all. I could have cared less for them, but not by much and this left me feeling ambivalent towards the book overall. As a result, I ended up skimming and skipping through the last 40% of the book just to finish it. I hoped that as I stopped and read further in, I would find something to really catch my attention and make me want to read in earnest. Alas, there were some moments of interest, but they passed quickly.

Overall, I wasn’t really impressed with this book, which I really hate to have to say. Negative reviews aren’t fun to write (especially if you’re trying to be professional) and I know books are a labor of love and can be intensely personal. I most likely won’t continue on with this series, but I’ll give Moore’s The Blasted Lands series a try because I’ve heard some positive reviews, plus I always thought the covers were cool.

Leave a Reply

