The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks – Review

cover-the-blinding-knife

Published: September 11, 2012

Publisher: Orbit Books

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 671 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

 

Synopsis:

Gavin Guile is dying.

He’d thought he had five years left—now he has less than one. With fifty thousand refugees, a bastard son, and an ex-fiancée who may have learned his darkest secret, Gavin has problems on every side. All magic in the world is running wild and threatens to destroy the Seven Satrapies.

Worst of all, the old gods are being reborn, and their army of color wights is unstoppable. The only salvation may be the brother whose freedom and life Gavin stole sixteen years ago.


After finishing The Black Prism a few months ago, I knew that I was definitely going to be crushing the rest of the series sooner rather than later. Brent Weeks is a master of writing stories that really draw in the reader and that man can do plot twists/epic unveilings like no other. It’s ridiculous and for that fact alone I insist that you go read his Lightbringer series!

The characters continue to astound, which is both good and bad. Kip changed considerably from the young Tyrean boy and he’s grown to become a minor force in the Chromeria. He’s got these moments of incredible insight and wisdom, immediately followed by the most incredibly cringe-worthy “Kip the Lip” moments. There were many new characters in The Blinding Knife, many of which are Blackguard inductees. Tia, a drafter of an unrecognized color called paryl, making her an outcast to many in the Chromeria and valuably to the Blackguard. All this is in addition to her talent for disguise and a sharp mind. I loved Tia and found her to be a complex character that I’m sure will play a significant role in the future. After mentioning characters that I (and most everyone else) liked, it’s only fitting that I discuss one of the characters that is so, so easy to hate. Andross Guile is a vile, scheming spider sitting at the center of an enormous web of information that he can manipulate. I loathed him, but simultaneously found him to be one of the most admirably devious characters I’ve ever read about. He’s beyond intelligent and his game is one of unfathomable complexity- I am usually unable to predict what action he would next take and I loved to hate him.

The Blinding Knife is a lengthy book, but not a page is wasted or dull. In this one book Brent Weeks manages to squeeze in much character development, plots, subplots, and what I fondly refer to as the plot-block. This is when I am so certain the plot is going to turn out a certain way because that’s how it always happens, or in some cases, that seems to be the only way it could play out in this situation… BUT THEN IT DOESN’T HAPPEN.  For me as a reader this is one of the most fantastic surprises ever! This book has everything but the kitchen sink and it makes it tons of fun. As I’m writing this I’m already nearly finished with the third installment, so trust me when I say it keeps getting better.

If it hasn’t been made obvious to you yet, I think every fan of fantasy books should check out Weeks’s books. I thought this particular series wouldn’t appeal to me, but I was happily mistaken. I only wish that it was already completed so I could read until the conclusion and then have a good solid book hangover. As it stands now, I’ll be waiting at least until late 2017 to satisfy my curiosity when the final book will be released.

4 thoughts on “The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks – Review

  1. This is a series that I really want to start – I do have the first but just haven’t got round to it – my bought books tend to take a back seat to review books, but I’m not requesting as many review books now so that I can read some of my own. Let’s see how that goes.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

