Stacking the Shelves: 1/7/17

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and it’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


RECEIVED FOR REVIEW:

Black City Demon by Richard A. Knaak

Very excited to start this one, especially after finishing up Black City Saint. Thanks to Pyr for sending it over.

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

I’m trying to restrain myself until February or March to read this one, but it’s going to be awesome! Early reviewers have praised it as Mark’s best work yet. With thanks to Ace.

The Holver Alley Crew by Marshall Ryan Maresca

The debut of another Maradaine series has got me pretty stoked (Do people still say that?). I’ve loved all of MRM’s books so far and I’m sure this will live up to my hopes! With thanks to DAW.

City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett

This one’s gonna be great, I can already tell. City of Miracles looks to have Sigrud as the MC, which is the best thing ever. Thanks to Crown Publishing.

The List by Patricia Forde

I don’t know much about this and have heard even less, but the synopsis was intriguing. I don’t have to worry about reading this one for a few more months because it’s not out until August. Thanks to Sourcebooks Jabberwocky for the eGalley.

Pulse: The Trial by R.A. Crawford

I love getting those surprising emails from authors asking me to review their books. I’ve rarely heard of them prior to that first contact, but you never know when you’ll discover something truly amazing. I can’t wait to check out this one from Ryan Crawford.

PURCHASES & GIFTS:

Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan

Had to have a hard copy of MJS’s latest book!

The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington

Another pretty that I had to have in hardcover. I loved the audiobook, so once the hardcover was announced I was already making shelf space.

Wrath by John Gwynne

YESSS! This book was so amazing, plus it was the grand finale of the series.

The Forgetting Moon by Brian Lee Durfee

I’ve been dreamily looking at this book for months now and I got it for Christmas (slightly late)! As soon as I make sure my ARCs are all caught up I’ll be digging into this one.

Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer

A book on how to improve your memory? Sign me up!

8 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: 1/7/17

  1. I’ve been meaning to check out Mark Lawrence’s books for a while now… though people have told me to start with his second series, since the protagonist for his Prince of Thorns books is “challenging” to like. Would you say the same thing?

    As for my most recent haul, I got these books for Christmas:

    A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (already read it and LOVED it)
    Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne
    The Giver by Lois Lowry
    Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
    American Gods by Neil Gaiman

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nice haul!! ADSOM was really good!
      I do think that the protagonist in Prince of Thorns is difficult- he’s an antihero and it seems as if he was written to be cringe inducing. I did enjoy the series though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

