Blogger Stats Book Tag

This is a brand new tag created by Stuart from Always Trust In Books, you can find a link to that Stuart’s own tag !!HERE!! Consider checking out his blog if you haven’t already!

The rules as per Always Trust In Books:

This tag is 20 quickfire questions regarding your very own book blog. There are very few rules. Just answer the questions, nominate as many people as you want and have fun doing so.

1). The Last three books you read:

The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi (review to come)

Skullsworn by Brian Staveley (Review)

City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett (review to come)

2). Spoilers or Spoiler free?

Mostly spoiler free, but if I get really really excited about a book, I’ll include a spoiler-y section, but with plenty of warning ahead of time.

3). How long have you been book blogging?

It will be 2 years in June 2017

4). A book you read in one sitting?

Cover- Brother's Ruin

There have been many books I’ve read in one sitting…. I think Brother’s Ruin might have been the most recent.

5). Your favourite genre?

Fantasy!!

6). Preferred book size? (novella, tome…etc).

I love a good doorstopper of a book (Words of Radiance), but I generally go for 400-600 pages.

7). Amount of books on your TBR pile?

Unknown – definitely over 30. THE TBR TOWER WILL TOPPLE SOON!

8). A book you have DNF’d?

Cover- The Invisible Library

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman is my most recent DNF (review to come). This happens so rarely to me and it’s a little disappointing, but there’s no point in wasting valuable time on something you don’t enjoy.

9). Recent awards or milestones?

I recently had a month with over 1000 page views, which was a huge deal for me!

10). Best interaction with an author you enjoy?

I’ve always had great interactions with Michael J. Sullivan, usually via Goodreads. It’s also great when authors give feedback on reviews of their books whether it’s via Twitter or in another manner.

11). Average number of books you read per month?

9 is about average for me. Yes, this sounds like a TON, but 2-3 of these are audiobooks that I zip through pretty quickly at work and on my commute.

12). Top three publishers?

Tor, Orbit, and… Ace/Roc/DAW because all of these are wonderful to work with!

13). Social media sites your blog uses?

GoodreadsTwitterFacebook

14). Average amount of time you spend networking?

30-45 minutes per day but I wish it were more!

15). Most comfortable blogging position?

Generally in a chair, though I prefer having a table nearby also :p

16). Music or quiet when writing reviews?

It depends. Sometimes I need absolute, perfect silence (think the quietest room in the world) and other times I need something epic like Audiomachine or Two Steps from Hell. My general music taste is more like The Oh Hellos and Kodaline but I can’t listen to words and write. :p

17). Can you sum up your blogging style in 5 words?

What am I even doing? (seriously, I can’t think of adjectives to describe this)

18). A blog you looked up to starting out?

I didn’t have one. I just decided that I wanted to share my reviews, so I made a blog. It wasn’t until I had actually started blogging that I began checking out other reviewers. The gals at Bibliosanctum were really inspiring to me and made me strive to improve!

19). The best book you have reviewed so far?

This is the toughest question- for 2017 I’d have to say Sins of Empire and Kings of the Wyld. For 2016 I think Michael J. Sullivan’s Riyria Revelations series.

20). Best piece of blogging advice?

Before you ever post your first review read and review several books and always have a few reviews lined up. This helps to eliminate the feeling that you’re behind or that you need to rush through books. Quality is important!

I’ll refrain from nominating anyone, but if you’d like to participate feel free to do so!!

2 thoughts on “Blogger Stats Book Tag

Leave a Reply

