Currently Reading: 1/20/20

Cover- Steel

Steel by A.C. Cobble

I LOVED the first book, Quill, and I can’t believe I forgot to see if the audiobook was out until now! News Flash – IT’S OUT AND I’M GONNA LISTEN TO IT FOR HOURS AND HOURS. The narration is done by the very talented Simon Vance and I’m about to lose myself in an awesome story for awhile.

 

 

Cover- The Shadow Saint

The Shadow Saint by Gareth Hanrahan

I enjoyed the dark weirdness of the first book and I was pretty excited when this finally showed up on my doorstep (after the release date). I thought perhaps it had gotten lost in the mail. Also, you can see my cover choices coordinate nicely this week!

 

Currently Reading: 1/13/20

Cover- The True Bastards

The True Bastards by Jonathan French

I enjoyed the first book in this series, but not quite as much as everyone else seemed to, which is part of the reason I’m only just now reading this despite having had an ebook for MONTHS. Thus far it’s interesting and I like getting things from Fetching’s perspective. Fingers crossed that it ends up being a good one!

 

 

Cover- Protect the Prince

Protect the Prince by Jennifer Estep

I couldn’t wait to read this after finishing up (and just recently reviewing) Kill the Queen. Perfect time to catch up so I can read the third book when it’s released in a few months.

 

Currently Reading: 12/23/19

Cover- The Black Hawks

The Black Hawks by David Wragg

I picked this up during the most recent Audible sale because I had seen some good reviews, plus the synopsis says it’s perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch. I mean, that’s me so I figure it has to be pretty good. I’m a couple chapters in and it’s pretty good so far and the audio narration is good. I look forward to seeing if it’s the adventure it claims to be!

Currently Reading: 12/16/19

Cover- Kill the Queen

Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep

I figured that with the third book releasing in 2020, it was about time I started this series. I’ve heard too many good things about it to NOT read it! It’s described as Gladiator meets Game of Thrones, so I should get my fill of action.

I would also like to point out that the cranberry apple pie described in the first chapter sounds awesome! A bookish cooking series might be something I try out soon!

 

Cover- Unnatural Magic

Unnatural Magic by C.M. Waggoner

Trolls and magical schools, oh my! I don’t know much at all about this book, just that the synopsis caught my eye. This kind of slid down my TBR when some other highly anticipated books showed up, but now I’m making up for that.

 

Currently Reading: 12/9/19

Cover- Starsight

Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

NEW BRANDON SANDERSON BOOK!! I’ve been quite excited to pick up this audiobook, but I needed to finish up the last one before I delved into this Starsight (so responsible of me, I know). I’ve barely begun this one but already loving it and a huge thanks to Brandon for elegantly inserting a psuedo- recap into the first chapter.

 

I’m still finishing up Master of Sorrows by Justin Call this week. It’s good, though it’s longer than I realized and the holiday season has gotten crazy already!

Currently Reading: 11/25/19

Cover- Bright Steel

Bright Steel by Miles Cameron

Wrapping up what has amounted to a fine trilogy this week! I’ve really been enjoying this so far and can’t wait to see how things turn out in the end.

 

 

 

 

Cover- The Rise of Magicks

The Rise of Magicks by Nora Roberts

As soon as this is available for download Tuesday I’m going to start my listen! This is another finale to a trilogy I’ve greatly enjoyed. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy a Nora Roberts book, since I never really associated her with the fantasy genre and didn’t know much about her books (thought she wrote romance). I’ve been pleasantly surprised and hope this ends with a bang!

Currently Reading: 11/18/19

Cover- Novice Dragoneer

Novice Dragoneer by E.E. Knight

Girl goes to dragoneer school so she can ride a dragon. PERFECT. I’m really excited to start reading this lovely book and hope it lives up to all the good review I’ve seen on Goodreads!

 

 

 

Cover- The Wolf's Call

The Wolf’s Call by Anthony Ryan

I was so backed up on reading earlier this year that I just never got around to reading this before it’s release date. I’ve had an excess of Audible credits and decided it was high time I checked this one out. I did forget that the narrator NEVER changes his voice and always sounds the same – is it a male or female character speaking? You’ll never know…