Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins – Review

Cover- Daughters of the Storm

Published: March 6, 2018

Publisher: Del Rey Books

Genre: Fantasy

Series: Blood and Gold #1

Pages: 448 (Hardcover)

My Rating: 3.0/5.0

A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN.

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose’s heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift–or a curse.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.


Daughters of the Storm was a book I’d never heard of prior to being contacted about reviewing it by the publisher. The synopsis was promising – I mean, who doesn’t love the idea of sisters united against an evil stepbrother who’s stolen the throne? Well, that’s technically what this story is about, but it wasn’t as thrilling as I had expected.

This book definitely has some action, but it’s really more of a family drama with swords and kingdoms. The eldest sister and heir to the throne, Bluebell, is fierce, battle hardened, and practical. I liked her quite a bit as she seemed to be the only sister that could keep her wits about her at all times and not be an idiot. Ash was also likable and much less irritating than the others. She’s also a powerful, untrained undermagician who can control the elements. The other sisters are a riot of bad decisions. Rose is wife to the King of a neighboring kingdom and ally, but… let’s just say she thinks with her loins and not her brain. She’s had an affair with the nephew of the king, putting the alliance at risk if it were ever found out and she just can’t make that mistake once. She was definitely my least favorite of the sisters because she’s a prime example of someone who makes selfish decisions and then tries to justify them as love. The twins Ivy and Willow each have their own flaws. Ivy’s a teenage hoe who thinks she’s far smarter and more desirable than she really is. Willow has turned to an unwelcome religion that is contrary to the beliefs of her kinsman, but her biggest flaw is naivety. Their stepbrother is pretty bad, mostly for killing one particular character, but he didn’t seem particularly evil. He just wanted to protect his mother and he wasn’t well loved by his stepsisters.

The whole plot of the story is that their father is dying and the sisters suspect foul play (they’re right) and they need to find someone who can heal him. They sneak off with him so perhaps he can shake the magical enchantment that’s made him fall into unconsciousness and so he’ll be in their safe keeping. The stepbrother knows who did and he’s trying to kill Bluebell before she finds out and kills him. It’s not actually a large scale drama, which I was appreciative of as there are too many “save the entire world” stories out there.

Overall, this book was okay. I didn’t love and it took me a really long time to read it because I just wasn’t super into the storyline or the characters. 3 out of the 5 sisters were irritating and I just didn’t love any of the characters enough to really care about what happened to them. I think I’ll probably hold off on reading future books in this series until I see some redeeming reviews for the sequel.

Currently Reading: 1/22/18

Cover- Daughters of the Storm

Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

I guess it’s high time I get started on all those March releases I have piling up on my TBR. This is the story of five royal sisters who must save their kingdom from an evil stepbrother. This book sounds interesting and I hope I end up enjoying it because it’s kind of long. No one wants to waste reading time!

 

I’ll also be finishing Iron Gold this week and I will be sad when it’s over! It’s been awesome thus far.

Stacking the Shelves: 11/18/17

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and it’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


1711-2017-111979890888908007 (1)

Check out that Lannister drink coaster!

So, this is seems to be smaller than my usual haul, but it’s also only been a few weeks since my last Stacking the Shelves post so that means I’m doing good, right!?

Received for Review:

Blood and Sand by C.V. Wyk

I LOVE GLADIATORIAL COMBAT IN MY BOOKS!!! When this was pitched to me I was thrilled and so I signed up for the blog tour. Keep an eye out for my review for this on its release date – 1/16/18. Thanks to Tor Teen for the ARC.

Perfect Shadow by Brent Weeks

What a cute little hardcover! It’s so wee compared to a normal book. This is a novella focusing on how Durzo Blint became Durzo Blint. Also included is the short story I, Night Angel. Thanks to Orbit for the finished copy!

Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

Norse influenced epic fantasy where five sisters beat down their evil stepbrother. Count me in. Though this is slated to release in the US in March 2018, it looks like it was first released in 2014 (Australia maybe?). Thanks to Del Rey for providing an ARC!

Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant

AHHHH this book!!! I don’t really do horror, but the paranormal/mythology/science thing presented in the synopsis of this book meant it automatically went into my request list. Killer mermaids. Yes. Many thanks to Orbit/ Hachette Audio for the audio copy.

Deadhouse Landing by Ian C. Esslemont

HOORAY!! I may have had few books in this haul, but they are all very exciting to get, particularly this one. I love the Malazan world, so naturally I requested this and promptly read it. Review will be up tomorrow!! Thanks to Tor/NetGalley for a review copy.

My Purchases:

Cover- Oathbringer

Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

My only purchase was at least an excellent one. I picked up the audio copy of this since I’ll be pulling long shifts this week at work in preparation for a long weekend. The hardcover will come into my possession at a later date because have you seen those endpapers??? Excellent so far!